New API Feedback & IRC Questions

I’m concerned about the New API, and its impact on the functionality available to developers. The Channels endpoints, for me and the app I’ve been working on, were easily the most important and useful available. As of right now, the app I’ve been developing for the last 2 years will need a massive overhaul to be compatible with the New API, and will lose a significant amount of functionality, even if all of the potential functionality in the Trello “Exploring” section is implemented. It seems like rather than merging Users & Channels together into something better, Channels was almost entirely eliminated from the New API.

There was some to be desired by v5, but in general, the functionality and plethora of information available to developers made up for any issues it had.

It’s also not clear from the Trello and New API page whether chat functionality will remain available via IRC, or if we’ll still be able to get events via IRC after v5 is replaced by the New API.

I’m sure people are sick of me saying this, but these types of changes are much more impactful to independent developers like myself. I don’t know that announcing the changes to the API along with a date when they’ll take place before the entirety of the New API is available was the right choice. From what I can tell by the Trello, if the “Exploring” section items aren’t definitively going into the API at some point, the final functionality hasn’t even been determined yet.

1 Like

I agree with your last paragraph. Where I do my professional development, we work on software that provides (at this point) APIs that are 20 versions old, going back to 2005, along with solid documentation. Why? Because you can’t expect clients to retool everything that they have done every few months. When we get Preview Releases, they are completed and fully documented as well.